Trailblazer: New Zealand

  • Beschrijving

Reisgids - wandelgids - New Zealand The great walks - Nieuw Zeeland | Trailblazer

Wandelgids voor Nieuw Zeeland door Alexander Stewart. De gids valt onder de Trailblazerreeks en leidt de reiziger door een achttal dag- en lange afstandswandelingen verspreid over heel Nieuw Zeeland. De gids maakt daarbij gebruik van een veelvoud aan kaarten en geeft ook de nodige informatie voor een bezoek aan de steden onderweg. Een inleiding in de geschiedenis, geografie, natuur van het land en een keur aan praktische informatie zijn ook inbegrepen.

New Zealand is a wilderness paradise of incredibly beautiful landscapes. From its turquoise waters and sandy beaches, fern-clad hillsides give way to lush forests, deep gorges, alpine lakes and snow-capped peaks. Outstanding scenery, a rich heritage and extensive outdoor activities combine to make New Zealand one of the world's most exciting hiking destinations. New Zealand is criss-crossed by tracks, of which nine have been designated Great Walks by the Department of Conservation. These are the country's premier hiking trails and each route takes about 3-5 days to walk. Internationally renowned, they give a good feel for the range of experiences available in the New Zealand backcountry. Meticulously waymarked and maintained, the Great Walks provide outstanding tramping opportunities for people of all levels of fitness and proficiency. In New Zealand, hiking is known as tramping. This updated second edition includes: Practical information for all budgets - Planning your trip and getting to New Zealand; getting to each trailhead; health and safety; environmentally-sensitive trampingIncludes 50 trail maps - walking times, directions, places to stay and points of interest. These are not general-purpose maps but fully-edited maps drawn specifically for trail users.Flora and faunaHistorical and cultural background.Plus - Auckland, Wellington and gateway towns - detailed guides and maps to Auckland, Wellington, National Park Village, Taumaranui, Nelson, Queenstown, Te Anau and Oban.